How to Enable Delete File Confirmation Dialog in Windows 11

You can avoid mistakenly deleting files using the delete confirmation dialogue in Windows 11. Microsoft included this new feature to help users.

When you delete any file in Windows OS, it will move to Recycle Bin but if it is a big file then it will be relocated. You can recover deleted files from Recycle Bin later.

The ‘Remove File Confirmation Dialog‘ prevents you to delete something directly, a dialogue box appears asking you to confirm your action. This technique prevents you from mistakenly removing a file or software from your computer. However, in recent Windows versions, this capability is disabled by default.

How to Enable Delete File Confirmation Dialog in Windows 11

Here is how you can enable this feature.

Use Recycle Bin Properties

You can enable the delete to confirm box using Recycle bin properties. Here are the steps:

Step 1: First find Recycle Bin on your desktop and then right-click on it.

Step 2: Then select Recycle Bin Properties from the list of available options.

select Recycle Bin Properties from the list

Step 3: Find the option called Display delete confirmation dialogue and then check it.

Step 3: Click on Ok to save the settings.

Display delete confirmation dialog

Now when you delete anything on your computer, you will see a window asking if you are want to delete that file or not.

window asking if you are sure about deleting that file

Use Registry Editor

You can also enable the delete confirmation dialogue box using the registry editor.

Step 1: First open the Run command tool using Windows + R key on your keyboard and then type Regedit the Run.

Step 2: Then press enters or click on the OK button to open the registry editor.

regedit run command

Step 3: In the registry editor, go to this location or paste this path into the address bar.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer

Go to Explorer Registry

Step 4: Right-click on Explorer under Policies > New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.

Enter the new DWORD Value

Step 5: Name it ConfirmFileDelete.

Rename the newly created registry to ‘ConfirmFileDelete’

Step 6: Double click on the ConfirmFileDelete file and select 1 for Value data. Then click on OK to save the value.

double-click on the ConfirmFileDelete registry and enter 1 value

You have enabled Delete File Confirmation Dialogue successfully in Windows 11.

Use Group Policy Editor

Just like Registry editor, you can do the same task with Group Policy Editor. Here are the steps:

Step 1: Open your Windows start menu with the Windows key on your keyboard and then search for Group Policy Editor.

Step 2: Find Edit group policy from the result and then click on it to open Group Policy Editor.

Group Policy Editor

Step 3: Double click on the Administrative Template under User Configuration in the left sidebar.

click on ‘Administrative Template

Step 4: Now find and select Windows Components > File Explorer.

select ‘Windows Components and then select ‘File Explorer

Step 5: Next you will see the Display confirmation dialogue when deleting files option.

Display confirmation dialog when deleting files

Step 6: Double click on Display confirmation dialogue when deleting files policy and then Enable to toggle for it. Finally, click on the OK button to save the settings.

select the Enabled and then OK

Default image
Rahul Patel

Rahul is a blogger and a tech geek. By reviewing the latest technology and finding the solution of pesky errors, he feels immense pleasure. Driven by his innate interest in blogging, he adapted blogging as a full-time profession 4 years ago.

Articles: 64